Under State law in Kentucky, you can be arrested and charged with a first offense DUI, regardless of the percentage amount of alcohol/drugs appearing in your blood, breath, or urine test(s), if you are found guilty of driving while impaired.
A BAC level of .08% or above, also allows for a person to be arrested, based upon the “per se” law, and to be charged with a first offense DUI in the state of Kentucky.
First Offense Penalties for Kentucky DUI may include:
- A fine between $200 – $500
- Service charge of $375
- Two to thirty days in jail
For a first DUI offense, it may be possible for your attorney to negotiate two to thirty days of community service in lieu of all or part of the fine, and/or jail sentence. However, if the court finds you guilty of aggravating circumstances, even in a first offense DUI, a minimum sentence of four days in jail will be imposed.
In addition, if you are a first-time offender, and aggravating circumstances are involved, the court can suspend your driver’s license for 30 – 120 days. If you are found guilty, you will also be required to attend, and successfully complete a state-approved counseling program.
A first time offender under the age of 21 who is found guilty can be fined $100-$500, have their license revoked one to six months, and be required to successfully complete a state approved alcohol assessment program.
Dickman law firm has the experience and expertise you need if you have been arrested for a DUI offense. DUI first offense penalties can be harsh. Hire a Kentucky DUI lawyer to assist you with your case.
Contact Kentucky DUI lawyer, Paul Dickman, today.
Posted in: Criminal Defense, Drunk Driving