If you are arrested and subsequently convicted of a second-offense DUI in the state of Kentucky, you can be required to forfeit your vehicle license plate. The court may also impose fines up to $500 plus court fees; require you to spend 7 – 120 days in jail, 10 – 120 days of community service, and revoke your privilege to drive for one year to 18 months.
Under Kentucky state law, you can be charged with aggravated second-offense DUI if your blood-alcohol content (BAC) is found to be 0.18 or above and you are:
- Transporting a person 12 years of age or younger
- Responsible for an accident resulting in injury or property damage
- Speeding 30 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit
- Charged with reckless driving
If you are convicted of a second-offense DUI in the state of Kentucky, you will be required to enter a substance abuse treatment program for one year.
Second-offense DUI offenders who refuse a blood-alcohol test, or tests fall into the category of “implied consent,” and may face one-year to 18 months of driver’s license suspension.
A DUI second-offense commercial driver with a BAC level of 0.04 or above, will likely experience permanent loss of their commercial driving privileges impacting their ability to work.
Dickman Law firm has the experience and expertise you need to assist you in fighting DUI second-offense penalties. Contact the Kentucky DUI defense law firm of Paul Dickman today, and allow us to assist you with your DUI charges.
Posted in: Criminal Defense, Drunk Driving